The Importance of Rest

Running half marathon races on two consecutive Sundays taught me a valuable lesson. It is the importance of rest. 

I felt fresh and fast in Paris. Then I did three training sessions during the week. While I ran the next half marathon at Silverstone on the following Sunday at a fast pace (for me), I did not feel I had any margin of speed or strength left in me. I did not feel bad or uncomfortable, I just felt I had reached top speed. 

The moral of the story is that rest is important. So from now until the Paris marathon on 5th April, it will be case of tapering down, as they call it in the running books, and early nights. 

With that, I bid you all good night!

Posted by Xavier

Leave a Reply

