Antwerp 10 miles (part 1/mind games)

I cannot believe it even myself but I participated in the first race of my life on Sunday. It took place in Antwerp, Belgium and it was 10 miles (or 16 km). The whole experience was so intense for a new runner like me that I cannot decide from where I would like to start my narration.

It was the first time that I ran such a long distance. I cannot really make up my mind if that was good or bad. Immediately after the race I thought that it was bad because I did not have any idea of the lenght of the distance and that I could not “see the end” in my mind. Now I think that it was probably good because if I knew how long it was, I would not have participated in the first place.

And this gives me the opportunity to tell how much I consider running to be a mind game. The most important thing for me is to know/feel that I have to go somewhere, to reach a point. Having your mind set on an even finctionary finish line helps you so much to continue running. And an actual finish line in a race is the greatest incentive to keep you going! This, and my running mate!

to be continued…

Posted by Maria

Leave a Reply

