I did it !

I did it, I finally did it !

I went for an hour’s run on the treadmill in the gym (10 minutes warm up then 50 minutes at a gentle 9.5 km/h) and then, feeling hungry for more, I took my shoes off and ran for another 10 minutes.

It felt great. I noticed an immediate change of posture and a change in foot placement. When bare foot, heel strikes just don’t seem to happen and the natural tendency is to land on the middle of the foot.

The next day I noted no particular aches or unusual pain.

I did keep my socks on and the treadmill was really warm and pleasant underfoot. I’ll do it again next week for sure.

3 Responses to “I did it !”

  1. Alun Says:

    I saw a guy running the Snowdon marathon in 2007 in bare feet. I’m pretty sure that running in your socks on the treadmill is slightly madder than that :-p

  2. Xavier Says:

    The Snowdon marathon in bare feet ???
    The Snowdon marathon itself is bad enough but without socks and shoes ?! That’s extreme.
    Did the guy finish ?

  3. Alun Says:

    Oh yes, he finished and made the papers. It’s on this weekend again, but I’m missing it this year 😦

Leave a Reply

